WIne Festival Limassol Cyprus youtube
Wine Festival Limassol

Historicalfacts of the Wine Festival


The Wine Festival has taken place twenty four times since 1961. Due to political unrest attributed to Turkey and the Turkish Cypriots, the Wine Festival did not take place in the-years 1964, 1974, 1975, 1976 and 1977. In August 1964 the Turkish Air Force bombed Greek Cypriot villages in the Tylliria area and hundreds of Greek Cypriots were killed. On 20th July 1974 Turkey invaded Cyprus and occupied 37% of the Island and forced many Greek Cypriots from their homes making them refugees in their own country.

The Wine Festival again took place in 1978, and was organized by the Municipality of Lemesos (Limassol), which took this responsibility from the Lemesos (Limassol) Chamber of Commerce and Industry who organized from 1961 to 1965 it was the Festival from 1966 until 1974. Previously the responsibility of the Lemesos (Limassol) Development Association.

The Chairmen of the organizing committees have been as follows:

- Cleanthis Christoforou (1961)
- Michalis Theordosiou (1962, 1963)
- Nicos Roussos (1965, 1966)
- Stavros Galatariotis (1967, 1969 - 1973)
- Evagoras Lanitis ( 1968).

Since 1978 the Chairman of the organizing committee is the incumbent Mayor of Lemesos (Limassol) Municipality: Mr. Fotis Colakides (appointed Mayor 1978 - 1985); Mr. Anthony Hadjipavlu (elected Mayor 1986 - 1991).

The following Ministers of the Cypriot Government have done the opening of the Wine Festival:

The late Andreas Araouzos, Minister of Commerce and Industry;  Andreas Papadopoulos, 1962, Minister of Communications and Works; Andreas Araouzos 1963, 1965, 1.966, 1967; Nicos Demetriou, 1968, 1969, Minister of Commerce and Industry; Andreas Loizides 1970, 1971, Minister of Commerce an.d Industry;

Michalakis Kolokasides 1972, Minister of Commerce and Industry; Odysseas Joannides 1973, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Andreas Papageorgiou 1978, 1979, 1980, Minister of Commerce and Industry; Nicos Pattichis 1981, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Georgios Andreou 1982, 1983, 1984, Minister of Commerce and Industry; Michalakis Michalides 1985,1986, 1987;Minister of Commerce and Industry; Takis Nemitsas 1988, 1989; Minister of Commerce and Industry, Andreas Gavrielides, 1990, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

historical 1