The area of the events

Greater Limassol is comprised of five geographically united municipalities: Limassol, Germasogeia, Polemidia, Agios Athanasios, and Mesa Yitonia. The urban area of Limassol is the second largest in Cyprus while the municipality of Limassol is the largest municipality, and for this reason it is rightly called the co-capital.

From the initial stages, the greater Limassol area is defined as the “event area” for the European Capital of Culture, with the participation and support of the five municipalities. At the same time, many activities shall be planned to take place in the wider area of Limassol, and especially in those communities where there is particular cultural interest and connection with the Metropolis of Limassol.

The benefit to the City and citizens, and also to everyone involved shall in any case be given, irrespective of the outcome of the candidacy; it is however expected to be maximised with the final acquisition of the title and the implementation of the complete programme as planned.